Objective: First Certificate (FCE)

Anywhere, anytime: a FCE companion

If you were a wink, I’d be a nod

with 2 comments

A good song from a good movie…to practice (BrE: practise) second conditionals, you know, that kind of ‘if sentence’ we use when we talk about unreal, impossible or hypothetical situations.

If+ the verb in simple past, would/could/might + bare infinitive (a ‘bare infinitive’ is an infinitive without ‘to’). In formal English we say If I/he/she were, instead of ‘was’. However, in common/plain/colloquial English we do use ‘if I was’…Check it out below:

If I was a ____ growing wild and free / All I’d want is you to be my sweet _____ _____ /And if I was a tree growing tall and green / All I’d want is you to shade me and be _____ _____

[Chorus]

All I want is you, will you be my _____ / Take me by the hand and stand by my _____ / All I want is you, will you stay with me? / Hold me in your arms and sway me like the _____

If you were a _____ in the mountains tall / The rumble of your water would be my _____ / If you were the _____, I know I’d be the _____ / Just as long as you were with me, let the cold winds blow

If you were a _____, I’d be a _____ / If you were a _____, well I’d be a _____ / If you were the _____, I’d wanna be the _____ / And if you were a _____, I know I’d be a _____

[Chorus]

If you were the _____, I’d be the _____ / If you were the _____, I’d be the _____ / If you were a _____, I’d be your _____ / And if you were an _____, I’d learn to _____

[Chorus]

Answers here (but don’t cheat)

ARE YOU A TEACHER? Lesson plan here.

Written by ElenaBen

March 24, 2008 at 1:21 pm

Posted in Conditionals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] The song & second conditional for self-study here. […]

  2. Any idea if you can use ‘if I was’ in an FCE exam, or would it be marked as incorrect?

    Cheers

    englishtogo

    October 28, 2009 at 5:29 am


Leave a Reply

