Objective: First Certificate (FCE)

Anywhere, anytime: a FCE companion

Students satisfaction??

with 3 comments

Well, so as they say:

Teaching is a complex and multidimensional activity, and consequently a student satisfaction survey should neither be seen nor used as the sole assessment of teaching and pedagogical practice. It is one measure among many for demonstrating and assessing teaching performance.

Yes, but this measure (i.e. course evaluations) is there and like it or not, it’s one of the most reliable ways we have to get feedback from our students, apart from those nice emails some students may feel like writing. Of course, it’d be great if this feedback could be also obtained throughout the course so we can change things and improve the course in the meantime. Anyway, this is the feedback I got from mine (Oct-Dec 2007, Fridays, 4pm-8pm, FCE, Centro de Lenguas, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain). Of course, I have to keep on working harder (Daft Punk: harder, better, faster, stronger…). Always.

Written by ElenaBen

February 6, 2008 at 1:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You almost hit high scores! too much kudos to you! I’m missing somewhere to evaluate the out-of-class effort [writing 3 (at least) blogs should be taken into account 🙂 ]

    pplux

    February 26, 2008 at 11:14 am

  2. Thanks ‘Luanatic‘…
    Thing is: you’re right. CFP and UPV surveys don’t take into account other variables, such as ‘materiales created by the teacher’ ‘use of meaningful technology by the teacher’ etc…So that’s why I’m always complaining. Of course I do this because I love doing it, and because I do believe it’s good for learners…but if it were for the people ruling Higher Education…I’d stop right now. They say: we have to use ICTs, we want to be in Europe, and all that yadda yadda yadda because at the end of the day, when they assess your teaching (via students’ surveys or in front of a committee) they don’t care about blogs and stuff like that…basically because they don’t know what they are.
    But I don’t give up precisely because of all the nice things I hear from learners. So thanks a lot pplux…

    tutorelena

    February 26, 2008 at 12:38 pm

  3. […] 12, 2008 · No Comments I guess you should know already that I don’t feel embarrassed for doing this. I think I have to, first of all to thank my […]


Leave a Reply

