Objective: First Certificate (FCE)

Anywhere, anytime: a FCE companion

In the mix…

leave a comment »

(Ripped, mixed and burned from Englishpage.com)

The types of mixed conditionals we’ve seen in our course:

PAST: If+past perfect

(3rd conditional)

PRESENT: would+ infinitive

(2nd conditional)

With this combination we are talking about how an imagined or real event in the past would affect our present situation.

  • If I had won the lottery, I would be rich.
    But I didn’t win the lottery in the past and I am not rich now.
  • If I had taken French in high school, I would have more job opportunities.
    But I didn’t take French in high school and I don’t have many job opportunities.
  • If she had been born in the United States, she wouldn’t need a visa to work here.
    But she wasn’t born in the United States and she does need a visa now to work here.

PRESENT: If+simple past

(2nd conditional)

PAST: would+have+pp

(3rd conditional)

They refer to an unreal present situation and its probable (but unreal) past result.

  • If I were rich, I would have bought that Ferrari we saw yesterday.
    But I am not currently rich and that is why I didn’t buy the Ferrari yesterday.
  • If Sam spoke Russian, he would have translated the letter for you.
    But Sam doesn’t speak Russian and that is why he didn’t translate the letter.
  • If I didn’t have to work so much, I would have gone to the party last night.
    But I have to work a lot and that is why I didn’t go to the party last night.

A grammar game from the British Council.

Written by ElenaBen

December 9, 2007 at 4:38 pm

Leave a Reply

