Objective: First Certificate (FCE)

Anywhere, anytime: a FCE companion

Separable or inseparable? That’s the question…

leave a comment »

As I told you in class, phrasal verbs can be separable or not, i.e., that the preposition/particle can be separated from the verb and you can place the object (noun) in between (the verb and the particle).

 

E.g.

I brought the children up, I brought up the children = separable

On Fridays, I have to look after my nephews (never *I have to look my nephews after*) = inseparable

Unfortunately, and once again, there are no rules/indicators whether a phrasal verb and its particle are separable or inseparable. It basically depends on the strength of their relationship…yep, bad joke. Nevermind. I found this site with a partial list of separable and inseparable phrasal verbs (please: no rote learning, just practise).

Written by ElenaBen

October 25, 2007 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

