Objective: First Certificate (FCE)

Anywhere, anytime: a FCE companion

Reading Part: scanning vs skimming skills

with 35 comments

Basically, these are the differences between scanning and skimming a given text:

 

  • Scanning: The kind of technique we use when looking up a word in a dictionary or in the Yellow Pages. You know what you are looking for so you are searching for that keyword or idea (you expect to find); i.e. you’re focused on finding a particular answer. When I scan a text, I look for words that are bold faced, italics, or in a different font size, style, or color.

Play this game! This game will help you practise scanning for information as you try to discover who has committed a horrible murder in Sleazeville! (It is important that you print out the cluesheet before starting the game. You need Flash player)

 

  • Skimming: The kind of technique we use when reading a newspaper or magazine. We don’t know we are looking for yet but we want to know what the text is about, to see if it is of interest. What do I do to skim a text? It’s a personal decision, but what I usually do is to read the heading or subheading and check the illustrations and images, if any. Then I read the first and last lines of each paragraph.

Take this skimming quiz! Are you a good skim reader? Brush up your skim reading skills with this three level against-the-clock quiz.

Written by ElenaBen

November 16, 2007 at 8:32 pm

Posted in Paper 1: Reading

Tagged with ,

35 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. excellent to practice reading skills .

    carmen

    November 21, 2008 at 4:10 am

  2. Thank you! But hey, is there a difference between ‘skim’ and ‘skim through’?

    thankful

    June 16, 2011 at 9:45 am

  3. notetaking:is a practical ofrecording an information captured from one source.

    abdulmalik

    November 25, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  4. i really lv dis answer on dis reading techniques.tanx alot an may god bles u

    adamu yusuf

    May 19, 2013 at 9:07 pm

  5. this has d proper content. i luv it

    Akande Emmanuel

    May 29, 2013 at 4:00 pm

  6. Your definition is exactly what I know about scanning and skimming reading

    Abuu mrisho

    August 13, 2013 at 9:59 am

  7. Thanks for finally writing about >Reading Part: scanning vs skimming skills
    | Objective: First Certificate (FCE) <Loved it!

  8. That is a very good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise information… Appreciate your sharing this one.

    A must read post!

  9. Having read this I believed it was rather informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time
    both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  10. Link exchange is nothing else however it is only
    placing the other person’s web site link on your page at suitable
    place and other person will also do same for you.

    UK Sildenafil

    March 27, 2014 at 6:31 pm

  11. It’s going to be ending of mine day, but before end I am reading this fantastic piece of writing
    to increase my experience.

    acai berries

    March 27, 2014 at 6:37 pm

  12. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles
    as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?
    My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours
    and my visitors would really benefit from some of the information you present
    here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Appreciate it!

  13. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send
    you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.

    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over
    time.

    Horacio

    March 27, 2014 at 7:58 pm

  14. Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my
    apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so
    she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83
    views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to
    share it with someone!

    Frontline for cats

    March 27, 2014 at 8:03 pm

  15. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and brilliant
    style and design.

    ChemistDirect.co.uk

    March 27, 2014 at 10:42 pm

  16. Everything is very open with a really clear description of the challenges.
    It was truly informative. Your website is extremely helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Sildenafil

    April 3, 2014 at 7:07 am

  17. Hello to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this webpage; this weblog carries
    amazing and really excellent stuff designed for readers.

    online pharmacy

    April 7, 2014 at 12:13 pm

  18. Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He
    always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you
    for sharing!

    ChemistDirect.co.uk

    April 7, 2014 at 2:44 pm

  19. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your
    site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect
    with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 pictures.

    Maybe you could space it out better?

    online pharmacy

    April 10, 2014 at 5:14 am

  20. My partner and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

    premature ejaculation

    April 12, 2014 at 6:49 pm

  21. Yes! Finally someone writes about keywords.

    hair products by Loreal

    April 14, 2014 at 5:31 pm

  22. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying
    and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and
    you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you.
    This is actually a great site.

    bio oil

    April 15, 2014 at 10:23 am

  23. It’s very simple to find out any matter on web as compared to textbooks, as I
    found this post at this web page.

    help in the bedroom

    April 15, 2014 at 10:11 pm

  24. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. That is a really smartly
    written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful
    information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  25. It’s awesome for me to have a site, which is useful in favor
    of my know-how. thanks admin

  26. After I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is
    added I recieve 4 emails with the same comment.

    There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

    glucosamine tablets

    April 16, 2014 at 6:14 am

  27. If you would like to increase your know-how simply keep visiting this site and
    be updated with the most recent news update posted here.

    alli stop smoking

    April 16, 2014 at 5:37 pm

  28. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in
    our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on.
    You have done an impressive job and our entire community will be grateful
    to you.

    alli stop smoking

    April 17, 2014 at 11:09 am

  29. Attractive component of content. I simply stumbled upon your blog
    and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing for your augment
    and even I fulfillment you get right of entry to persistently fast.

    stop smoking

    April 17, 2014 at 12:06 pm

  30. It’s an amazing paragraph designed for all the online users; they will get benefit
    from it I am sure.

  31. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

    ali stop smoking

    April 19, 2014 at 6:33 pm

  32. Thanks for finally talking about >Reading Part: scanning vs skimming skills | Objective:
    First Certificate (FCE) <Loved it!

  33. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.

    I have learn this post and if I may I wish to suggest you few fascinating
    issues or suggestions. Maybe you can write subsequent articles
    referring to this article. I desire to learn more issues about it!

    pharmacy online

    April 20, 2014 at 3:51 pm

  34. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I’m hoping to present something again and aid others
    such as you helped me.

  35. Simply desire to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in
    your post is simply nice and i could assume you are an expert on this
    subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your
    RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

    help in the bedroom

    April 28, 2014 at 1:31 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

